Distinguished Faculty Awards & ATI Ambassadors

Distinguished Faculty Award

Granite State College is proud of its faculty. Each year up to two faculty members are selected to receive the College’s Distinguished Faculty Award and 10 faculty are selected to participate in the annual Academic Technology Institute (ATI).

The annual Distinguished Faculty Award has been awarded since 1985 and acknowledges faculty who have made outstanding contributions to the teaching/learning process at Granite State College. In recognition of excellence in teaching, recipients exemplify this distinction through the sharing of knowledge in a challenging and supportive learning environment and by demonstrating and inspiring lifelong learning in their students.

2019 Distinguished Faculty Recipients

Picture of Rita Kondrath

Rita Kondrath, M.A., Ph.D. Faculty, Undergraduate

Rita teaches at the undergraduate level at Granite State College. She holds a Ph.D. and M.A. from Duquesne University. In addition to her teaching, she has served in the following capacities while at GSC: a coach and mentor to other faculty, a peer reviewer, assisted with the development of future faculty training and shared high-impact teaching strategies as part of an intensive high-impact faculty reflection survey. Dr. Kondrath has continually dedicated herself to improving student outcomes and experiences through her involvement in professional learning communities centered around curriculum development and continuous program improvement. Her teaching approach encompasses encouragement, clarity and robust feedback geared toward helping each of her students reach their full potential through reflective and meaningful learning. As a mentor for the peer review process. Rita has provided colleagues with useful tools and insights around the value of appreciative inquiry in GSC’s review approach. Dr. Kondrath is an excellent role model who touches the lives of both faculty and students and helps the college embody quality, innovation, and collaboration.

Marilyn McGair, J.D. Faculty, Undergraduate | Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Faculty

As a faculty member in Undergraduate Studies and the Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Faculty, Marilyn is the epitome of dedication. Over the past seven years, she has taught over 45 courses in varied disciplines including: technology, history, critical inquiry, political science, management, and computer programming. She holds a J.D. from Suffolk University Law School and is certified in computer technology from WPI. Marilyn works hard to ensure that all students are challenged intellectually and have the foundational skills and content knowledge they need to be successful academically and professionally. Her student evaluations consistently demonstrate that she is helpful, responsive in her feedback and encourages active participation by all students in the class. In her role as Assistant Dean of Undergraduate Faculty, Marilyn has proven herself to be an exceptional academic generalist, as well as a trusted mentor to new and experienced faculty in varied disciplines. She also serves on the Undergraduate Curriculum Committee and various ad hoc committees.


Criteria for the award emphasize a strong combination of the following characteristics:

  1. Excellence in teaching at Granite State College
  2. Extraordinary responsiveness to individual student needs, both in supporting and in challenging individuals
  3. Demonstration of the faculty member’s own role as a lifelong learner
  4. A minimum of 5 academic years teaching* at Granite State College *need not be consecutive years
  5. Service to the College (e.g., committee work, creating community connections, etc.)

2018 Distinguished Faculty Recipients

Elizabeth Gauffreau, M.A.
Senior Lecturer, Undergraduate Studies

Michael Zaino, J.D.
Lecturer, Undergraduate Studies

Prior Distinguished Faculty Award Recipients

  • 2017, Mark Jewell and Dennis Martino
  • 2016, Jonathan D. Kipp
  • 2015, Faby Gagne
  • 2014, Mary Beth McNicholas
  • 2013, Christine Tate
  • 2012, Daniel M. Gardoqui
  • 2011, Craig D. Nevins
  • 2010, Barbara Krol-Sinclair and Carrie Gendreau
  • 2009, Kay Enwright and Audrey Kanik
  • 2008, Fran Rancourt and James Trotzer
  • 2007, Gail Poitrast and Claudia L. Michael
  • 2006 Paul Carter and Daniel Poor
  • 2005, Susan Dame and Beth Roth
  • 2004, Bill Cuff and Barbara Benham
  • 2003, Robert McPherson and Elizabeth Crockford
  • 2002, Jeannemarie Thorpe and Natalie Golden
  • 2001, Patricia Erwin-Ploog and Steve Hickoff
  • 2000, Jennifer Kirk Savoie and Judith D. Salmon
  • 1999, V. Arthur Hammon and Wendy Turner
  • 1998, A. Thomas McGowan, Edward Gleason, and Ellie Marshall
  • 1997, Patrick K. Gray and Nancy Puglisi
  • 1996, R. Elizabeth Baird and Alan John Crowley
  • 1995, Claude E. Caswell and Laura L. Nagy
  • 1994, Lucia Baker Owen and Cathy Lasalle
  • 1993, Phyllis Killam Abell and Ina Anderson
  • 1992, Jane E. Raymond and Donald Sheehan
  • 1991, Michael K. Hill and Charen Urban
  • 1990, Barbara Oakley-Hayes and Elaine Millen
  • 1989, Stephen S. McAllister and William S. Cooper, Jr.
  • 1988, Carol G. Mooney, John W. Gibson and Michael Russell
  • 1987, Richard A. Graf and Robert F. Swift
  • 1986, Jane Walter and Stephen Lambert
  • 1985, Alan H. David, Sr.

ATI Ambassadors

In 2011, the USNH Academic Technology Steering Committee founded the annual Academic Technology Institute (ATI) as a way to bring faculty together to explore and find solutions about how to integrate technology into their courses to transform their pedagogy and course design. Each of the 4 institutions (GSC, KSC, PSU, UNH) selects 10-15 faculty from diverse disciplines to participate in this four day event.

At the ATI, faculty explore the pedagogy and tools as well as new thinking around using technology in the classroom. In addition, faculty are given the opportunity to interact and work together with their colleagues across the institutions.

Comments are closed.